Who looks at your photos on Facebook?’ New hook for cybercriminals
The security company Kaspersky warns of new Facebook application that takes as its hook the photos uploaded to the social network for financial gain for cybercriminals. When installing the app ‘Discover who look at your photos on Facebook’ is automatically replicates by sending invitations to contacts in Facebook.
After the already “burned” application that appears frequently in the walls of Facebook – ‘Discover who visits your perfil’-comes’ out who looks at your Facebook photos’, the same malicious application for the same purpose but using as bait the photographs increases in the social network. Taking advantage of the curiosity of users to discover which of their contacts has been interested or have “gossiped” photos, cybercriminals are launching a new tactic to get money. It appears that this application has been developed by a Spanish-speaking cybercrime.
As says the analyst of Kaspersky Lab, Dmitry Bestuzhev, “the user when clicked, installed on your Facebook profile this application then automatically replicated by sending invitations to all friends of the victim.” This sending invitations the application without the consent of a victim who is looking for his list of Facebook friends also become infected and forward to your contacts the same invitation. The application generates traffic websites that pay for each visit to the cybercriminal. Thus, the more victims there are, the more income you get by this fraudulent act. Social Network does not offer this possibility to the users, so to not fall victim to these attacks, Bestuzhev recommend using a virus , be more aware of what can and can not do on social networks and use browser plug-ins such as ‘no script’ that are available for Opera, Firefox and Chrome .